Shri Prajapati is new speaker of MP Assembly

Bhopal : January 8, 2019 (Muslim Saleem):  Congress MLA N P Prajapati was January 8 elected Speaker of the 15th Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly.
After proceedings for the day began, the BJP wanted to propose the name of its nominee Vijay Shah for the post of Speaker, which was not allowed by protem speaker Deepak Saxena.
In the absence of BJP MLAs, Congress members proposed the name of Prajapati, the MLA from Gotegaon, following which the protem speaker ordered a voice vote. Prajapti secured all 120 votes of MLAs of Congress and its allies.
In the 230-member House, the Congress has 114 MLAs and is supported by seven more MLAs – SP (1) and BSP (2) and four independents. BJP has 109 MLAs.
The Kamal Nath-led Congress government came to power last month.