Indian women hockey team qualifies for Rio Olympics

Hockey India’s president lauds contribution of MP

Writes to CM Mr. Chouhan

hockey1.9Bhopal, September 1, 2015 (Ataullah Faizan):  Indian women’s hockey team has qualified for Rio Olympics after 36 years. Madhya Pradesh has played important role in this. Hockey India’s President Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra has lauded contribution of Madhya Pradesh. In a letter to Chief Minister Mr. Shivraj Singh Chouhan, he has expressed gratitude towards him for promoting hockey and making available all facilities for it. The qualifying team includes 5 former players of Madhya Pradesh State Hockey Akademi established in 2007 including Lilly Chanu, Sushila Chahu, Anuradha Devi, Monica Malik and Renuka Yadav. Earlier, Indian hockey team had participated in Moscow Olympics in 1980.

The Chief Minister has made every possible effort to promote hockey and provide financial assistance in the state. Men’s and women’s Hockey Academies were established in Madhya Pradesh in year 2007.  Mr. Chouhan sanctioned Rs. 50 lakh honorarium for runners-up of Asia Cup in year 2009-10. Besides, he also gave away Rs. one lakh reward each to every player of Indian women’s hockey team which was runners up in Asia Cup. In 2009-10, when women hockey players held demonstration for honorarium and incentive money equal to male players, the Chief Minister provided Rs. one crore financial help to women hockey players.

Besides, the state government also provided Rs. 2 lakh each to junior women’s hockey team who participated in Junior Women’s World Cup. Synthetic turf, floodlights and sprinkler system have been made available at State Women’s Hockey Academy, Gwalior to provide international level facilities to hockey players. Besides, astro turf facility has also been provided to hockey players. At present, Bhopal has 2 astro turf grounds, Seoni and Betul one each. The state government has also organised several national and international level hockey tournaments.