CM honours forest officers for bringing national and international laurels to MP

Gold medal to Mr. Satyam for registering state’s name in world record twice

cm10.2.16Bhopal, February 10, 2016 (Muslim Saleem):  International laurels to Madhya Pradesh at mega convention of tendu leaf collectors and forest committees here. Mr. Chouhan gave away gold medals and letters of citation to 7 forest officers including APCCF Mr. Y. Satyam. Retired PCCF Dr. Suhas Kumar, APCCF Mr. Ramesh Pratap Singh, CCF Mr. R. Shriniwas Murthy, CCF Mr. Jasveer Singh Chouhan were awarded for wildlife management, in-charge of state level Tiger Strike Force Mr. Ritesh Sirothiya for wildlife crime investigation and CEO of Minor Forest Produce Processing Centre, Bhopal Mr. Abhay Patil was felicitated for outstanding performance in herbal products.  Mr. Y. Satyam got planted 55 lakh 26 thousand 945 saplings on one single day on July 22, 2013 in Shahdol district during his posting at Shahdol forest division.

On the basis of certified evidence, record of 17 lakh 8 thousand 181 saplings’ plantation was included in Guinness Book of World Records. Mr. Satyam got these saplings planted without government expenses through public participation and cooperation of joint forest management committees on private lands. For the second time, one crore 43 lakh saplings were planted as per action plan chalked out by Mr. Satyam on one single day July 31, 2014 in the state, which beat previous world record and the feat of Madhya Pradesh was again recorded in Guinness Book of World Records.

Mr. R. Shriniwas Murthy was awarded for setting a novel precedent in the world for skillful management of Panna tiger reserve and increasing number of tigers there to 31 from year 2009 to 2015. For this achievement, Mr. R. Shriniwas Murthy has been conferred Friend of Tiger Award by World Nature Fund in year 2012 and “Earth Hero” award by RBS Foundation in year 2015. Mr. Ramesh Pratap Singh was conferred award for successful relocation of 35 villages from Satpura tiger reserve between year 2011 and 2015.

As a results of Mr. Singh’s efforts, Government of India declared Satpura tiger reserve as “Best Biodiversity Park” in year 2014 and was conferred “Most Visitor Friendly Wildlife Destination of the Year’ Award by TAFT Foundation. Mr. Singh also received Green Warriors Award of RBS Foundation in year 2015. Dr. Suhas Kumar was honoured for successful translocation of 29 hardground swamp deer from Bandhavgarh and Kanha tiger reserves to Satpura tiger reserve. Mr. Jasbeer Singh Chouhan was felicitated for successful translocation of 31 bison from Kanha tiger reserve to Bandhavgarh between 2010 and 2013 and non-chemical translocation of 29 highground swamp deer.