Prime Minister confers Krishi Karman Award to MP for 4th time

Farmers’ welfare and agriculture development minister Mr. Bisen receives

pm20.3.16Bhopal, March 20, 2016 (Ataullah Faizan):  Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi conferred Krishi Karman Award consecutively to Madhya Pradesh for the 4th time in New Delhi today. Farmers Welfare and Agriculture Development Minister Mr. Bisen received Krishi Karman Award for total food grains production during year 2014-15. Union Agriculture Minister Mr. Radhamohan Singh, Minister of State Dr. Sanjeev Baliyan and Mr. Mohan Bhai Kalyan Bhai Kundariya were also present on the occasion. The Prime Minister conferred the award to the state during 3-day Krishi Unnati Mela. The award carried memento, letter of citation and Rs. 5 crore. Besides, in Progressive Farmer’s Category, the Prime Minister felicitated Narsinghpur’s farmer Mr. Narayan Singh Patel for wheat production and Morena’s Mrs. Rekha Tyagi for millet production for year 2014-15. They were given memento, letter of citation and Rs. 2 lakh each. As a result of Chief Minister Mr. Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s foresightedness to make agriculture profitable, extension of loans to farmers at zero percent interest rate, efforts to increase cultivable area and area under irrigation, the state has been conferred Krishi Karman Award for the 4th time consecutively. Mr. Bisen informed that during year 2014-15, food grains production and productivity increased by 254 lakh tonnes and 1719 kg per hectare, respectively. Area under irrigation also increased by 3.26 lakh hectares. In the state, 29.45 lakh quintal certified seeds were produced.

Free of cost spiral graders and seed treatment drums were provided in 40 thousand villages under seed quality improvement programme. In year 2014-15, one lakh 9 thousand hectare infertile land was converted to fertile. Agriculture advisories are being sent to farmers through mobile SMS. Credit cards were distributed to 13 lakh 36 thousand farmers during year 2014-15. At present, 78 lakh 75 thousand farmers have Kisan Credit Cards. Agriculture Cabinet has been constituted for better collaboration and coordination between concerning departments. State’s Principal Secretary Agriculture Dr. Rajesh Rajora and Director Agriculture Mr. Mohan Lal Meena were also present on the occasion.