Committee headed by CS for preservation of state protected monuments

Bhopal, April 24, 2016 (Ataullah Faizan):  The state government has constituted a committee headed by Chief Secretary for preservation of state protected monuments at several places in Madhya Pradesh. There are about 492 state protected monuments in the state. Several of them are situated in remote areas due to which their preservation becomes difficult. The committee has been constituted to remove these difficulties. Members of the committee include ACSs of Home and Finance, Principal Secretaries of Culture, Revenue, PWD, Forests, Urban Development & Environment and Tourism departments and MD of Tourism Development Corporation. Commissioner Archaeology, Archives and Museums has been appointed Convener of the committee. District level committees headed by collectors have also been constituted to remove difficulties in preservation of protected monuments. The district level committee will comprise SP, Conservator of Forests, PWD executive engineer, Commissioner Municipal Corporation or Chief Municipal Officer and district level officers of Tourism and Archaeology departments. Zila Panchayat CEO will be its Coordinator.