So-called secular parties ditched Muslims, eased passage of Triple Talaq bill

New Delhi: Most of the parties that opposed the Triple Talaq bill – including Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United, AIADMK and K Chandrashekar Rao’s Telangana Rashtra Samithi, and Mehbooba Mufti’s PDP ended up aiding the bill’s passage.
A number of opposition lawmakers also gave the vote a miss. The list of absentees included Sharad Pawar and Praful Patel of the NCP, five lawmakers from the Congress, six from the Samajwadi Party, four from Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, two from Trinamool Congress, and one each from Lalu Yadav’s Rashtruya Janata Dal and MK Stalin’s DMK.