Encroachment on water sources will be considered a crime: CM Shri Nath

CM’s meeting with Expert Committee on “Right to Water” Act
Bhopal, September 17, 2019 (Ataullah Faizan):
Chief Minister Shri Kamal Nath has said that all encroachments on rivers, ponds and other water sources of the state will be strictly removed. He said that encroachment on water sources would be considered a crime. The Chief Minister was in a discussion with members of the committee of water experts constituted for the “Right to Water” Act at the Mantralaya today. The Chief Minister said that the draft of “Right to Water” Act should be prepared soon so that it can be introduced in the winter session of the Legislative Assembly. The meeting was attended by Chairman of Expert Committee Dr. Mihir Shah, and Co-Chairman Magsaysay Award winner Shri Rajendra Singh.
Chief Minister Shri Kamal Nath said that general public has the right over water. Therefore, encroachment on it cannot be tolerated at all. He said that whoever encroaches on the sources of water, will be considered a criminal. He said that small water structures should be built in place of large structures. This will save people from being evicted from their ancestral land, property and village. Shri Kamal Nath said that during his visit to Siberia, he noticed that there is large scale cultivation in the whole of Siberia but no dams were built to irrigate it, but people irrigated their land through ponds and small water structures. The Chief Minister said that we should also use this technique. This will avoid unnecessary disputes.
The Chief Minister said that the people should be given the right to manage and use water. He asked to pay special attention to prevent and conserve water. He said that while constructing water structures, we should also take suggestions from villagers as they are more aware and also have experience.

During the meeting, Chairman Water Expert Committee Dr. Mihir Shah and Co-Chairman Shri Rajendra Singh apprised the Chief Minister with their views and suggestions regarding the Right to Water Act.

Chief Secretary Shri S.R. Mohanty, Additional Chief Secretary Rural Development Smt. Gauri Singh, Principal Secretary Public Health Engineering Shri Sanjay Shukla and Expert Committee Member Dr. Himanshu Kulkarni, Shri P.S. Vijay Shankar, Shri Sachin Ojha, Shri Liby Johnson, Dr. Philip Kulet, Dr. Sundarajan Krishnan, Shri Jitendra Agarwal, Dr. R.K. Nema and Dr. D.K. Pahalwan were present in the meeting.